Love Phy(sucks)

As I stare at my statics homework, trying to muster up information that had been so permanently my mind only 3 weeks ago, the only thing that popped up was your face. I imagine little versions of me running around the control room of my head, very much like that one episode of SpongeBob (you know which one I mean), trying so hard (and almost succeeding!) to process the physics files, and then getting the command that makes them all groan: your face.

Forgetting people is the most unrecognized talent. It must take an incredible display of strength of forget a face that gave you such an influx of emotions and information. (I’m saying ‘must’ because I haven’t quite accomplished that feat yet.) Or perhaps it’s an innate disposition. Maybe some humans are born with the ability to love and then stop loving. (I think we call them sociopaths.)

Newton’s 1st law states that a particle remains at rest or in motion unless a force acts upon it. I guess like any other object, seen or unseen, love has to follow this law too. So, in a way, a talent is just that: defying the laws of the universe that it set upon itself.

So, with the effort I give trying not to think of you, I wouldn’t have even made it onto the intramural team.

One thought on “Love Phy(sucks)

Leave a comment