Unlucky 7

DSC_0102

DSC_0056

DSC_0131

It’s 7 weeks into the semester and here we all are, finally coming down from the high of a new semester. Sure, some of the novelty is still floating around (mainly hidden in the bright eyes of freshmen). The weather even seems to be reflecting our moods as the first Hell Week is drawing to a close and the first major grades are coming in.

Of course, after a week of spending my waking (and sometimes sleeping) hours in the library, once I finally got a break, I headed right back. This time armed not with my pencil and paper, but with my camera. There were some stragglers with later tests and that were still scattered throughout the building, and at one point, I’m sure my shutter scared them away. Nonetheless, I was enjoying myself and with every clack, found myself feeling a little bit more free.

However, there’s something about a lot of freedom that’s a little bit, kind of, really really terrifying. I suppose that’s a part of the weariness that comes in around week 7 of the semester when you realize that maybe you’ve been having a little too much fun and in letting yourself go, losing a part of your conscious.

From an insider’s perspective, college seems like the most disorderly part of your life, but in reality, the cycles of your schedule simply wax and wane so slowly that they’re imperceptible in the chaos of everything else.

Alas, in the small segment of time I have left before progress reports come out and I find my value in numbers, I can find solace in something that sets me free, and that’s all we really need in life, right?

DSC_0188

DSC_0195

4 thoughts on “Unlucky 7

Leave a comment